Bright side

For those of you that have followed my blog for awhile, you probably know about my passion for dietetics and career future as a dietitan. However, last year, I was not matched to a dietetic internship, and I basically thought my life was over. Not to go back to that time, but I decided to get my Masters in Nutrition and try again the next year.

So, I have worked on my application and enhancing my resume for the past year to ensure that I would match this year. After submitting my application in mid-February, I impatiently waited to hear if I would get an interview at any of the programs I applied to. Those were some stressful weeks constantly checking my email in hopes of an invitation to an interview. Needless to say, this year was polar opposite of last year. I got interviews at every program I had applied! I went into the interviews trying to be as confident as possible that I was meant for each program.

Well, last night was the fateful match night. I was at home with my mom and one of my sisters to open the news. I was matched to my third choice. I was surprised is the best way to put it. I put on my happy face and was telling myself everything happens for a reason and at least I matched! We had a fun dinner and I was getting used to the idea that I would probably stay in the city I live in now, instead of Charleston, where I really wanted to be.

This morning, that positivity basically came crashing down. I cried to my mom and sister that I had worked so hard, and I really thought I would be in Charleston. I have really struggled in Charlotte because I don’t have many girl friends here. I know you are probably thinking, you’re a big baby- at least you matched! And I know I should be that way, but I think I have a right to be disappointed. I am trying to keep my head up, and there still is a chance to be in Charleston through the program I am because they send one intern to Charleston each year. However, I have learned to not keep my hopes up.

Everything happens for a reason, I know that. God has a hand in everything. But for right now, I am going to be a little disappointed but I really am trying to look at the bright side.

Leave a Reply

